Impulse

There is a lot I’ve learned in the last 7 years of my life. Since I graduated high school, I have always second guessed myself. Whimsically I decided that I wanted to join the army. The entire process of me joining the army, I was questioning if I should do this or not. I went all the way up to MEPS, and as I was signing my papers I had that last bit of “is this what I really want to do?”

It turns out that it just so happened to be one of the best decisions of my life. I have brothers and sisters I never would have gained. Experience and education unparalleled to a college education. Furthermore, I have experience I can take into the real world beyond book smarts. All because one day in high school, I decided to visit my recruiter.

I learned, and as irresponsible as this sounds, that if I want to live happily, I should spend my money, not save it. Why? Well, if I save money, I’ll look at my account and want to hold onto it. I won’t want to spend it. It just so happens that if I feel that way about my money, I’ll second guess buying that ticket to California. I’ll reconsider a road trip from Florida to North Carolina and drop $500-$600 on a snowboarding trip. I have all my life to save up for retirement only to be too old to do what I want to do. You’ve got one life, live it.

As scary as it sounds to not have a safety net, I admit that it is scary. The first step is always the hardest. I’m not saying be irresponsible and use your rent money to pay for that impromptu concert ventureĀ  (even though I’ve done that), next time you are sitting on that $300, book a hotel stay for two nights at some place that you’ve wanted to visit? You live in California? It’s an 8 hour drive from Huntington Beach to Mt. Shasta. Take that drive. Stop in San Francisco and then continue your way. Live life in person, not on facebook or youtube videos.

Leave a Reply

